Thursday, May 20, 2010

Motography.

Every time I try to leave a comment on a blog without being signed in those little made up decoder words appear. You know, words like "innilate" or "niningrant;" words that sound so much like real words that you begin to second guess your own vocabulary. I always try to comment without being signed in, and so I always see these words.
POINT. That I really do think they get longer each time as if to teach me a lesson already. It may spell "motography," but it reads "haven't you learned already that we need to know if you are spam or not, and could be potentially be a virus?!!"

I do not think that I am spam. All the same, I should remember to sign in more.



I keep trying to write a short story. It would be very good for me, and I always enjoy it. The problem is that whenever I do reach up and capture that flitting bit of inspiration before it slips away, my stories always come out depressing! I could be listening to Jimmy Buffet (the most carefree, in no ways mood dampering music on the face on the planet) and still, all I get is Ethan Frome or The Yellow Wallpaper. Does this mean that I am depressed??
...I do not think I am depressed?

NO. I am neither spam nor depressed.

Maybe if characters didn't write themselves, then things would be much easier.



So I started my training shift as a waitress today.
Highlight?
I spilt water all over a little girl's phone. But do you know what I think?? GOOD RIDDENS! What the crap is a ten year old doing with AN IPHONE?!?! and better yet, what the crap is she doing with it, texting while at a family dinner?! In my world, that's justice baby. Not that I am rejoicing in someone else's loss or disappointment. I guess it is that I do not feel sorry for that that father may have to pay for a new phone. If that ends up being the case; lesson be learned about buying a child a phone worth more than that kid has ever made in their lifetime.
Whew.

On a happier note, the girls will be here in two days. Did you get that?? TWO DAYS! As I sit in this big house with no playmates, I cannot contain myself. I cannot contain myself at the thought of fresh afternoon coffee pots, meaningful conversations, movies, God, and so much more. I think that even if we glued ourselves to the couches all summer, these few months would still manage to be somehow...epic. :)

Saturday, May 15, 2010

Summertime and the Livin's Easy

Don't you wish you could make someone call you a really great nickname??
It would never work, you can't just tell someone to call you something that has been preplanned.
Nicknames never work without spontaneity.

I am back at home :)
Last night we had about 20 or 30 people over for my birthday, it was quite shocking. I had about 6 or so people in my mind that I had coming, but; well, let's just say that my brother is a good brother :)

Tonight was a great night. Mom and Mr. Kenny went to go visit some friends for a bit, while Garrett cooked chicken and I made salad. Once the folks got back we had a really nice time. Then Garrett had to jet, and mom, me, and Mr. Kenny watched Lady and the Tramp (Mr. Kenny's idea and favorite Disney flick :)

It was fantastic. However.
That movie always scared me a bit as a kid, the rat in the baby's room, those cats, the dog at the pound that gets put to sleep.
When I was six, it was a horrifying experience.
It was GREAT tonight, though. We laughed a ton, and the movie was fantastic. It is amazing though that I still get fidgety during those rat scenes.
Tramp called lady Pij (Pigeon really)
I think that is so cute, I wish someone would call me Pij. However, there's not much spontaneity in sky rats.



FUN FACT: The first song is the movie Stepbothers is "A-Punk" :)
Awesomeness!

UNFUN FACT: Vampire Weekend is NOT coming to n.o. during the summer like I thought. They came in April and so now the girls and I cannot go see them over break.

VERY FUN FACT: The girls will be here in a week or so; my spirit feels uncontainable.

Saturday, May 1, 2010

Are you suggesting that coconuts migrate??

I am sitting in Sarah's tiny little dorm room all by myself, surrounded by the clutter of books, pens, paper, and every other tid bit of inspiring junk. So I decided to blog :)
It is so quiet in this tiny room, except for the sound of Hannah showering in the bathroom next to me. It is a perfect haven, and believe me, we were SO ready to get to any kind of haven.

After a day of driving, way too much Japanese food,the coolest frozen yogurt I have ever eaten, and great new friends, it was time to head back to the dorm room and take a bit of advice from Frankie. Thus, I am relaxing.

I was a close call though. Hannah and I trudged up all the concrete stairs to the dorms, banged on the door until someone let us in, asked the same nice girl for the code to the stairwell, and finally after confronting a locked dorm room and whipping out an old calling card/burglary skills, we got in.

And I am in Jackson, in Sarah's room with Hannah until she gets here. What a great, random weekend :)

After this bit of rest we were going to eat with Sergei, but seeing as he has more of a boyish ability to STILL be hungry after a crap load of Japanese food, Hannah and I will be hittin up some coffee instead. Then we will regroup, and watch OUR MUTUAL FRIEND!!!!!!!!!!! I cannot wait to see it, it will be a first for me. Five hours of British romance, here I come ^^

p.s. Did you know that coconuts DO migrate!!!!! (not by swallows of anything, but still!) If anyone asks me what I learned in college, that is what I will say.